2023 Year In Table-Top Gaming

To me, this has been a weak year for boardgaming (only 50 different ones) and a strong one for role-playing. I skipped both LinCon and my buddy’s November weekend boardgaming retreat, which would have brought up my boardgame numbers.

Role-playing games are a big thing for me these days. I ran six sessions of Delta Green for three missions,* thirteen sessions of Mutant Year Zero, and eight sessions of Drakar och Demoner for the original 1987 Svavelvinter mini-campaign in Fantasy Iceland. Also I ran a session each of Drakar och Demoner and Delta Green at the ÅbyCon gaming convention in March. Total 29 sessions!

(* Reverberations and Extremophilia from the 2018 collection A Night at the Opera. Ex Oblivione from the 2020 collection Black Sites.)

*

Below are the boardgames that I played more than twice this year. Can’t Stop, a short Sid Sackson classic, was new to me. Brass and Hansa T are longer games. All seven are highly recommended!

  • Can’t Stop (1980)
  • Brass: Birmingham (2018)
  • Coloretto (2003)
  • Keltis (2008)
  • Hansa Teutonica (2009)
  • High Society (1995)
  • The Grizzled (2015)

Dear Reader, what was your biggest table-top gaming hit of 2023?

Stats courtesy of Boardgame Geek. And here’s my gaming year of 2022.

Author: Martin R

Dr. Martin Rundkvist is a Swedish archaeologist, journal editor, skeptic, atheist, lefty liberal, bookworm, boardgamer, geocacher and father of two.

Leave a comment