April Pieces Of My Mind #2

  • Here’s how a 1st millennium back-yard iron furnace works. It’s like grilling bacon (ore) until all the fat (silicate slag) has dripped away, and continually adding more bacon until you have a hefty chunk of solid meat protein (iron). The grill consists of charcoal. A puddle of grease (slag) is left behind at the bottom of the furnace. The reason that the protein chunk doesn’t sink into the grease puddle is that it’s relatively cold in the grease collection pit. Each droplet of grease solidifies as it lands. Eventually you get a thick layer cake of solid grease, whose viscosity is high enough for it to support the weight of the protein chunk.
  • So pleased that three of my young excavation participants from fieldwork in recent years have a) gotten good jobs in archaeology, b) joined the exclusive club that I like to call Chinese Spouse Fandom.
  • Even if you and your friends don’t play music, you should take professional band photos now and then and release them.
  • Listening for years to Fredrik Strage’s interview podcast, I have been struck by how self-perpetuating rock’n’roll mythology is. Rock gods almost universally report that they didn’t enter rock mainly because of a passion for music, but because Kiss blew their minds with their image when they were twelve. “I had to learn to play the guitar because that was the only way to become a rock god.”
  • The public tends to believe that archaeologists want to excavate interesting sites that come to their attention. This is true in many cases. But almost no archaeologist has a paid job that lets them excavate interesting sites that come to their attention. This is confusing and frustrating to the public.
  • Submitted a pretty gruesome journal paper titled “Human skull manipulation in Vendel-Viking Period Sweden and Denmark”.
  • Ladies, beware! If he says he wants to clothe you in silks and velvets, then he isn’t your generous passionate lover. He is a gay fashion designer!
  • Hey gender studies scholars! I’ve cycled into town while listening to a podcast about 1920s horror fiction, I’ve attended an art-historical guided tour of a cinema, I’m having a cup of hot chocolate and a piece of extremely decadent chocolate mousse cake named “Elliot”. And I am ready to do an in-depth interview about traditional cis-het Swedish masculinity!
  • In 2019, J.E. Macedo de Medeiros defended his PhD thesis in archaeology at the Albert-Ludwig University in Freiburg. He was so confident of the importance of his work that he titled it Hoard finds of the Late Bronze and Early Iron Ages: a process-logical paradigm shift (my transl.). Five years later, no such shift has to my knowledge taken place.
  • I had to check. You have to cross at a minimum three national borders to travel from Iran to Israel. This threat of war is like if Portugal were menacing Switzerland.
  • For a fine example of Swedes not being able to say ‘dj’, listen to the excellent 1992 hit song “Stone Me Into The Groove”. “Oh, my saviour, my friend, yust take me away”
  • I don’t know about other scientists and scholars, but man, I love my source material / study objects. I’m a pro, not an amateur, but sometimes I feel more akin to those who approach archaeology for love, in their spare time. Amator in Latin.
  • Hopefully there will be a NASA rover on the south pole of the Moon less than a year from now.
  • One of the many ways people mystify me is in their need to get out of their heads. It’s spring cleaning day in our housing area. In shrubberies within 100 m of our house I found packaging for alcohol, nitrous oxide and tramadol. I think everybody should just read a book instead.
  • I met a man the other day who told me he worked as a “backender”. I was confused: surely this is the opposite of “boob man”?

Author: Martin R

Dr. Martin Rundkvist is a Swedish archaeologist, journal editor, skeptic, atheist, lefty liberal, bookworm, boardgamer, geocacher and father of two.

28 thoughts on “April Pieces Of My Mind #2”

  1. “yust take me away”

    -Have you listened to the local english farmer in ‘Hot Fuzz’? -That is *real* English!

    -I have a feeling neither Iran nor Israel care much about the sanctity of borders. “The strong do what they can, the weak endure what they must”.

    OT – there is something called International Citizen Hub in Lund, Scania. I bring this up in case you are going to the region with international students.

    Like

    1. The geography is important because the governments and the better sort of rebel in Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, and Iraq can shoot at foreign aircraft in their airspace (or let allies shoot back). They have an hour or more to spot and intercept most drones and low-end cruise missiles before they reach the target country.

      Whereas Russia is next to Ukraine, so there is no way to intercept air strikes against Ukraine without entering RU or UA airspace.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Iran has ballistic rockets which could reach Israel, and they can put some very nasty stuff into the warheads (Saddam Hussein threatened to do exactly this, but was not insane enough to follow through).

        Like

      2. Ballistic missiles are harder to defend against, but also have a fraction the firepower of conventional air forces, drone fleets, and cruise missiles. And one country can not invade another by missile.

        Like

  2. “Backender” can be read in German as “a male person who habitually bakes or is baking something right now”. Not to be confused with Bäcker (m.)/Bäckerin (f.) who do so in a professional capacity (there is no accepted gender neutral form – yet).

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Would the professional band photos require you and your friends looking like you are performing as musicians? But how are you supposed to get realistic hardware for the photos unless you have a friend with a real band?

    I had to look up “backend”. When learning of how much $ they make, I started humming ‘Money for nothing and the chicks for free’.

    Like

  4. Study? I love to study objects of old military hardware. Russia has a lot of that, not so much new stuff. As the 79th anniversary of the victory over Germany is approaching I look forward to whatever parade they dare to put in the street exposed to drones. Last year they had one (1) tank, an antique T-34.

    Maybe they will dare have an Antonov-2 biplane do a flyover this time. Last year we did not even get that.

    Like

  5. As I mentioned before, last summer we found evidence of drug use near a bench behind my workplace. I am not surprised we have that crap here. I just hope we one day will get a biochemical solution, like a vaccine that selectively blocks the receptors the drug molecules use for the ‘high’ without blocking important receptors.

    Like

    1. Depends mainly on whether the land has been ploughed. In Norway many sites are in the woods, so there they can see structures in the topography. With lidar too these days.

      Like

      1. BTW, Carina Bennerhag archaeologist at Norrbottens museum just received a prize for uncovering quite early iron manufacture in northernmost Sweden.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Bands… Laibach, a famous band from Slovenia will be playing on Stockholm this May. They have a very distinct style.

    Like

  7. “In” Stockholm. They are not sitting on the roof when playing. Also, I keep reading facts about the doom metal band Ghost, they have a musical range I rarely associate with metal bands. And Sahara Hotnights are making a comeback.

    Like

    1. That sounds like the function of my brain when I get up too early in the morning and has not yet had coffee.

      Like

  8. just in… A bear bone found in Poland that is 115000 – 130000 years old has vertical carvings that is not part of a butchering process. After careful examination, it seems to have served a cultural significance (keeping count, maybe?) for the neanderthals doing the carving.

    Like

  9. As they are passing through Stockholm May 19th… Part of Laibach’s esthetic is to satirize fascism. Here is their ‘Birth Of A Nation’ 

    “Laibach – Geburt einer Nation”

    .https://youtube.com/watch?v=ZZAD7W3M4zc

    There will possibly be equally ‘distinct’ bands playing in Stockholm this summer, I just have not kept track.

    Like

  10. Music- Taylor Swift is coming to Sweden, I see she has a huge following among ‘swiftie dads’ , not something you see much with parents of other fan groups.

    Like

Leave a comment