My Medieval LARP Upbringing

Reading a new book about investigations in Medieval churches, I suddenly recognise a correspondence in my childhood. I spent much of it a) singing in the choir of Saltsjöbaden’s extremely lavish and archaic church, b) reading mid-to-late 20th century fantasy fiction, c) role-playing in fantasy worlds.

I recently visited the church basement for the first time and found that it is a bare, functionalist cast-concrete and rebar structure from the 1910s. And when I try to read fantasy fiction now, it’s obvious to me how it has been glued together (not always very skilfully) from fragments of the historical Middle Ages.

I became an archaeologist because I grew up in a 20th century stage set that reimagined the Middle Ages, although founded on a concrete structure that looked like a subway station.

Author: Martin R

Dr. Martin Rundkvist is a Swedish archaeologist, journal editor, skeptic, atheist, lefty liberal, bookworm, boardgamer, geocacher and father of two.

2 thoughts on “My Medieval LARP Upbringing”

  1. Architects should embrace the mixture of styles, now that 3D printing can build entire houses. First, build a solid foundation by conventional means. Then print a full-scale replica of Orthanc (the centre of Isengard).

    The City planners in New Zealand really should embrace the opportunities to bring more tourists. Here in Sweden we could build something cool at the site of the derelict fortress of Stäket.

    LARPing does not need to be accurate- I can do without the whole immersive lice/leprosy experience. But a medieval fair based on the film Jabberwocky would be an experience even I would visit, please add an animatronic fantasy monster.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Kolmården wood is an obvious choice for a Mirkwood adventure park. Streams where you can ride inside barrels. Guess which animatronic animal I would recommend?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment