April Pieces Of My Mind #1

  • I like to combine visits to my university in Łódź with side trips to see the country. Last year I was in Lublin and Kraków. A few weeks from now I’m going hiking in the great old-growth forest of Białowieża National Park!
  • Just a reminder: the Epoch Times news organisation and Shen Yun travelling shows are propaganda outlets for Chinese Scientology. The conflict between Falun Gong and the Chinese Communist Party has no good guy, only two bad guys.
  • Prepping a conference talk about metal-detecting in Sweden. Considered titling it “Swedish metal-detecting is slowly starting to rock”.
  • Does my paper about Viking skull manipulation include the section header “Talking Heads”? Of course it does.
  • If a news item mentions that a man is 26, it can be good or bad. But no man described as being 52 in a news item is ever good. He’s either bad, dead or horrendously wounded.
  • I don’t understand why Darth Vader’s girlfriend is named PubMed.
  • Polish orthography, how a certain vocal sound is represented with Latin characters, is highly consistent. I found it to be the easiest part of learning Polish. After all, I’m a native speaker of a language that thinks stjärt and höskörd is reasonable spelling. Polish, Swedish and German agree that compounds should simply be written as one word, no space or hyphen. Add this to Polish orthography though, and you end up with words that will hit an everyday English-speaker like a kick in the groin: WCZESNOŚREDNIOWIECZNYCH: “Early Medieval” (plural, genitive case)
  • My son sent me a song he’s just written with mythological lyrics about a hero who fights the Sun Shader, gets his head knocked off, searches the world blindly for his head, and finally steals the Sun Shader’s head as a replacement. ❤
  • It’s 2004. Someone gives you a non-OCR:ed scan of an article in Polish that is highly relevant to your work. It’s effectively a set of photocopies. You don’t know any Polish. What do you do? It’s 2024. Someone gave me a non-OCR:ed scan of an article in Polish that is highly relevant to my work. It’s effectively a set of photocopies. I just screenshotted it one column at a time and pasted it into Google Translate, and now I’m reading it in my native language.
  • Maybe creativity is like a really flaky LLM that tries and fails to spout conventionalised averages of whatever it has been fed with.
  • My kids are first-generation digital natives. Wonder for how many more generations there will be a digital world to be a native of. I don’t worry about humanity going extinct. But it isn’t looking so great for the techno-capitalist complex’s long-term survival.
  • Jrette is headed for engineering school in Lund. So I’m thinking about a Scanian project so I get to go there a lot, look at finds at the university’s Historical Museum, have lunch with my kid. Might extend it to Zealand as well, it’s not far.
  • My attempts to keep track of who’s Black and who’s Jewish and who’s Black and Jewish in Chabon’s Telegraph Avenue read like a deranged Nazi’s kill list.
  • Hint of subcultural/class-related homogeneity in my RPG gaming group: the members have a total of seven children, named Samuel, Samuel, Signe, Signe, Emilia, Heidi and Ossian.
  • I knew that the name Oscar is from McPherson’s fake Scottish folk poetry. Today I learned that Selma is too. Both names have been common in Sweden.
  • Historical correctness of the material culture in Verhoeven’s 1985 Flesh+Blood, ostensibly set in 1501: forget about it, they didn’t even try.
  • Anybody feel like gyring and gimbling? In the wabe?
  • Bought two climbing roses, planting soil and barn manure. Swapped out a lot of the old soil in a big planting basin on the street gable end of our house, planted the climbers, transplanted three shrub roses that have been eking out stunted & undernourished lives on much worse soil around the house. Now I have FIVE ROSE BUSHES just outside the yard gate to look at every morning for seven months until the frost sets in. Been waiting for this for ages!
  • Reading the enormously long short story anthology The Weird is really relaxing because it liberates me from two of my reading hangups. 1) There’s no way I will finish it anytime soon, so there’s no reason to press on with it. 2) The stories are unconnected, so I don’t forget bits of the context if I leave it untouched for a week or two.
  • I’ve seen many, many artist’s reconstructions of excavated burials. I don’t recall ever seeing a fat corpse in them.

Author: Martin R

Dr. Martin Rundkvist is a Swedish archaeologist, journal editor, skeptic, atheist, lefty liberal, bookworm, boardgamer, geocacher and father of two.

17 thoughts on “April Pieces Of My Mind #1”

  1. Russian/Ukrainan cyrillic has distinct characters for the sje- and che- sounds.

    Krakow – check the former address of Stanislaw Lem and see if they have set up a plaque. If not, I will write to Tusk and complain. No JAS-39 planes for Poland until it is done.

    Stealing a head is what Ganesha the Indian god did. From an elephant.

    Like

  2. You can safely assume that Falun Gung are bad people. They are a cult and have done some very bad things. For years they camped out in the streets in one of the busiest parts of Hong Kong, where they assailed the ears of passers-by using loud hailers all day every day. I can’t recall exactly, but I would estimate they blocked the footpath, so that pedestrians had to cross the street to get past them, for in the region of 10 years. The HK Police decided the best policy was to just ignore them. Otherwise, a definite outcome would be hordes of people in ‘democratic’ countries would accuse them of brutalising them – because that is exactly the massive lie that the Falun Gung people were telling everyone to people in the so-called free world.

    But exactly how many members of the Chinese Communist Party have you met? What makes you think they are bad? Because you disagree with their politics? Just because you think they must be? With due respect, keep your Swedish politics in Sweden and mind your own business. As it has happened, I have met and dealt with a lot of members of the Chinese Communist Party through my work (engineering crosses political boundaries), and I have never met one I didn’t like. They have always treated me in a polite and friendly way, and have been helpful to me.

    So, please summarise briefly here why the Chinese Communist Party are bad people (now, not 20 years in the past or whatever). If you can’t, I suggest you pull your massively self-opinionated head in.

    Like

  3. And if you delete that comment, that in itself will demonstrate that you slander people and, when challenged to offer evidence, you cover it up by deletion.

    Like

  4. Northeast Scania has a lovely nature. If you can get a project working in that area within driving distance from your daughter you have hit the jackpot. And you might even meet with colleagues in Copenhagen. Are there ferries between Scania and Poland?

    OT- I am forwarding this to cheer you up. -The tories have been hoisted by their own petard. By making immigration a major issue they have given oxygen to their far-right rivals. Nearly one-third of tory voters have gone further right.

    “Polls Shows Reform UK Too Hot for Tories to Handle”

    .https://youtube.com/watch?v=5kmc-CgzjC4

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Historical correctness in film: ‘Inglorious Basterds’ had some teenie weenie deviations from historical truth.

    ‘Scoop’ will feature the TV interview with prince Andrew that doomed him. If the film has Andrew ending up like Adolph in that Paris cinema, I will definitely want to watch it!

    Like

  6. Methinks genuine creativity will be the last thing real general artificial intelligence will be able to do.

    Long before we get an electric Lionardo Da Vinci, ordinary schmucks like you and me will have lost our jobs as the oligarchs find AI can do most ordinary jobs, and don’t go on strikes.

    (This provides a segue to the upcoming strike by cleaning staff belonging to the Kommunal union. I belong to a different labor union but most of my co-workers may be affected)

    Complaint: the spring is taking a pause the upcoming week. The swans that have been flying north the whole week may suffer.

    Like

  7. OT. We are turning Earth into Giedi Prime.

    “Last year the UN’s panel on biodiversity IPBES warned that one million species face extinction as manmade activity has already severely degraded three quarters of land on Earth.”

    Like

  8. A sad memory for us old-timers.
    British comedian Tommy Cooper died on this day 40 years ago. He had a heart attack while on live television.

    Like

  9. Your Polish colleagues will feel a bit safer about their eastern border – Ukraine will apparently get the military support package, at last.

    OT -a famous politician fell asleep in court.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment